A Weekend in Amsterdam Taught Me A Massive Life Lesson

What if we just decided to go for it, and let life take us where it would?

Mike Goldberg
7 min readDec 17, 2021
Photo by Author

Anything can happen

As I look back so fondly at my time in Europe, my first year made the biggest impression on me. It was a time when literally anything could happen.

Early in November, my wife and young son took a trip back to the states for my nephew’s baptism, leaving me to my own devices for a couple weeks.

I passed the time by entering a video contest, where I sent a small project for some fashion event in Paris. But once that was done, I needed something else to do.

Time for a trip. But where?

I looked at a map and considered the possibilities. I needed a location with a short travel time (less than a 3 hour flight from my home of Stuttgart, Germany). I created a circle on a map, bounded roughly by Copenhagen, London, Marseilles, Florence, Budapest, and Berlin. The whole world was mine.

Amsterdam had been calling to me since we had arrived.

A short flight from Stuttgart to Schipol Airport, then a train to Centraal station, then a short walk to find my hostel.

--

--

Mike Goldberg

3x Top Writer | Traveler | Real estate investor | Storyteller | Occasional columnist | I talk about personal growth and seizing opportunities.