Being A Good Father is the Hardest Thing You’ll Ever Do

We need to become the parents we never had. But how?

Mike Goldberg
3 min readJun 19, 2022
Photo by Author

A very happy Father’s Day to those who have stepped up and accepted the role of ‘Father’.

And my deepest gratitude for all the kind words people have offered me about my ability as a father. I cannot tell you how much this means to me, and I am truly humbled.

To me, being a father is more than travel and experiences and finding ways to be present with my children. While those things may indicate I am engaged in their lives, it’s the reason why that ultimately matters.

I want my children to thrive.

In that sense, being a parent is hard. It’s hard because we have no roadmap.

So many of us came from family situations that didn’t serve us. All the people who came from abusive or neglectful upbringings weren’t given the tools to thrive. We suffered because our parents didn’t give us the tools we needed.

If we want our children to thrive — if we want them to never experience the neglect we faced, we need to become the parents we needed.

--

--

Mike Goldberg

3x Top Writer | Traveler | Real estate investor | Storyteller | Occasional columnist | I talk about personal growth and seizing opportunities.